If you are driving within New York State, there are a number of different traffic laws that you’ll need to be aware of. For the purposes of this article, we are going to be examining speeding laws, distracted driving, seat belt use, and the insurance coverage you’re required to have on your vehicle. Continue reading to learn more about these laws so that you can do your best to avoid being issued a traffic citation.
NY Speed Restrictions
When traveling throughout New York, you should always be keeping your eye out for the speed limit. The speed limit refers to the maximum speed you should be traveling in reasonable conditions.
For instance, if the speed limit on the highway is 65 mph but the roads are icy, you could still be cited for speeding, as you should reduce your speed based on the weather and safety conditions of the roads you drive on. Most expressways in New York have a maximum speed limit of 45 mph, while the City has a speed limit of 25 mph on nearly every road.
Since speeding is a significant contributor to motor vehicle collision fatalities, you can do your part to minimize these deaths by reducing your speed and maintaining the speed limit whenever you drive.
Distracted Driving Laws
Distracted driving has rapidly been on the rise in recent years, particularly as the prevalence of cellular phones became more and more common. Distracted driving is the act of driving while distracted by literally anything. Such distractions could be a cell phone, GPS, reaching for a beverage, the passengers in your vehicle, changing the radio station, and anything else that takes your focus off the road.
Penalties for distracted driving in NY include fines of up to $200 for first time offenders, and up to $450 if you receive 3 distracted driving citations within an 18 month period.
Mandatory Seat Belt Use
The law regarding seat belt use in New York is clear: if you are in the front seat, you need to be wearing your seat belt. In fact, anyone under the age of 16 needs to wear their seat belt in the front or back seat, and children under 4 should always be in safety seats whether that be a booster seat or car seat depending on the age, height and weight of your child.
If you violate NY seat belt laws you can expect citations up to $100 if the violation is for a child under 16, as well as three points being added to your driving record.
All registered vehicles in NY need to have auto insurance. There are minimum insurance requirements that every motorist will need to meet including $25,000 for bodily injury of one person, $50,000 for multiple persons, and $10,000 for property damages on your liability insurance.
You must also have $50,000 in personal injury protection coverage as per NY no-fault insurance laws. It is recommended that you carry these same minimum limits for uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage so that you are protected if you are involved in an accident with an under or uninsured driver.
Get Help Fighting Your Traffic Ticket
If you’ve been given a citation for any of the aforementioned traffic violations, or if you have another type of traffic ticket you need help beating, work with experienced traffic ticket lawyer James Medows.
With attorney James Medows by your side, you’ll increase your chances of beating a wide range of traffic tickets including running a red light, speeding, many other kinds of traffic violations. The sooner you reach out, the quicker you can put your citation behind you.